Our Christmas Party!!!!

We had about 15+ people at our house tonight for our first annual Christmas party. All of the people I had invited were people I had gone to school with, so I was a little nervous that Jon wouldn’t have a good time, but I think it went well!!! I was very proud of myself, because this was the first time ever that I threw a party and did all of the cooking and baking on my own. I started cooking at 1pm and finished ten minutes before guests started arriving at 7ish. I made homemade Molasses cookies (my favorite ever AND a big hit), meatballs, spinach dip, deviled eggs, a cheese ball, and celery sticks with peanut butter. I didn’t have many leftovers which was very encouraging to me.

While eating and talking, we had a mini-game. I had a glass Christmas tree filled with red and green M&M’s (both peanut and regular). Everyone got to guess how many were in there. We played that whoever got closest over or under won. Can you believe we had a tie? Out of all those people, we had a tie, so after breaking the tie my friend Becky who had just driven in from Ohio won the M&M’s.

Then we did a Christmas gift exchange. It was a lot of fun. Jon and I ended up with a $10 gift card to Starbucks. One of the couples actually got something they had been wanting, but didn’t want to spend the money on because it wasn’t a necessity. That was pretty exciting. After the gift exchange we played a very rowdy game of Catch Phrase where the boys beat the girls two rounds to one. After everyone was tired of Catch Phrase, we moved onto Mad Gab…which I am absolutely horrible at. I can’t hear the phrases in the garbled mess, and of course, it wouldn’t be a party if Jon didn’t get all of the boys to play Halo 3. He’s even playing now as I type at 12:03am.

All in all, the night was a wonderful success. I’m exhausted but so happy that it was so much fun, and I think everyone enjoyed themselves. I’m also thankful I got to catch up with all of my high school friends while being domesticated. 😉 Here’s some pic of the fun!!!

One thought on “Our Christmas Party!!!!

  1. Ashleigh, your party sounds wonderful!! I have a feeling I know where that “candy-in-a-jar” game came from!! It’s the only game we play at the Millard family get together!!

Leave a Reply

