Day 1: San Francisco

IMG_0815Jon and I decided that blogging is relaxing for me, SO to relax, I will keep our blog readers updated on our vacation. So here it goes…hope you enjoy.

 Our trip had a very exciting beginning. It wasn’t exciting at the time, but now it was hilarious. Jon and I had to drive about 1.5 hours to the airport in Charlotte, NC. We had just parked at the airport, and we were unloading our luggage when I asked Jon (in a very panicked voice) if he saw my wallet up there. He calmly responded no. As I begin feel my blood pressure rise, I call my mom to see if she saw my wallet on her counter (we left from her house, and I had written her a check before leaving). She said no. Let’s just say I was about to break down into tears…well as I was asking my mom to look in other places I had been in the house, I remembered that I had put my wallet in Jon’s glove box because he didn’t want me to take it with us, I had put my id into my camera back. DISASTER AVOIDED…..

 Due to my fiasco, we were late getting to the ticket counter, SO the lady didn’t charge us for our bags (YEAH, $15 saved) because she said that she didn’t want us to miss our flight. She did tell us not to tell anyone because she didn’t want to ruin her image so her name has been withheld to protect her identity. Flights were incredible. Each landed about an hour earlier than scheduled, each gave us three rounds of drinks and multiple (like 2+) bags of prezels a piece…who said the economy was struggling? AND, contrary to what usually happens to Jon and me, all of our luggage arrived when we did!

 SO, on to Day ONE in San Francisco…..We started the day by getting our rental car, a Jeep Patriot which is a pretty cool SUV. It’s small, but comfortable and perfect for our purpose. On our way to buy a charger for our Garmin (we forgot it in the car during the wallet fiasco), we found that there is an “Arlington Cemetary of the west coast.” Since is Memorial Day weekend, we wanted to visit and pay our respects to men who have sacrificed so much for our freedoms. Jon and I remembered men in our lives that have served in some form in the military (Grandpa Buecher, Grandpa Avery, my cousin, Walter Osteen, and a cousin of mom Sutter). It was really neat to see all of the flags that had been placed in preparation of the festivities on Monday. Boy & Girl Scout troops worked together to honor each fallen soldier. After visiting the cemetery, we decided we needed to find some heavier clothes. We knew it would be “chilly” in San Francisco, but we didn’t even comprehend how chilly. We went to Goodwill and threw some items together to make us a warmer…what a great idea! You’ll have to check out the pictures of our styles….Jon even got complimented on his awesome coat.

 Bound for the Golden Gate Bridge, we got onto the infamous California 1. We had plans of walking across the bridge, but that quickly changed with the 54 degree weather and the wind chill. What a beautiful view. We drove around some scenic ways so we could get some better views.

 We checked into our hotel and then headed out to see Fisherman’s Wharf and get some food. Did you guys know San Francisco is one of the hilliest cities in the World. Well, Jon and I had a grand idea of walking to the Wharf (2.3 miles). Well, check out the pics for the hills. OH MY WORD. Definitely got a good thigh and calf workout. We ate some amazing food at a seafood restaurant. I had trout stuffed with crab meat. Jon took a “great” picture of my meal. After supper, we conveniently walked another 2 or so miles back to our hotel where we both vowed to take advantage of the hot tub for our very sore muscles. Thankfully, we had asked our waiter for a flatter way home, and it was much easier to handle.

 I have uploaded all of our pictures to picassa, so please browse them. We have really enjoyed my new camera, and Jon is turning out to be quite the photographer with it. I’m so proud of him. http://picasaweb.google.com/ashleigh.sutter/Personal?authkey=Gv1sRgCK6p_IW6h5fcKw&feat=directlink

3 thoughts on “Day 1: San Francisco

  1. Ashleigh, you sure do know how to get me to cry!! What a touching “blog” of your first day of vacation! Thank you for going to the cemetery to honor the vets (esp. Grandpop)!!! We left our hearts in San Fran!!!! Love, Grandma B

Leave a Reply

