Prayer….

Over the last few months I have been thinking about my prayer life…yes, I used the right term thinking….not necessarily praying. How many times do you set out with the right intentions to pray, but then get distracted, fall asleep, or simply get bored? I struggle with my prayer life. When I tell someone I will pray for them, I do my best to think of them through the day, but my prayer life shouldn’t simply be requests. It should be praises, meditation, listening, etc. I’m working through a study on the book of Colossians and Max Lucado wrote a really good reminder of what prayer should be. I wanted to share it with you.

“So what are the basic New Testament guidelines for effective praying? Pray unselfishly and with a pure heart (James 4:3). Pray relentlessly (I Thess. 5:17). Pray believing that God will work (Mark 11:24). Pray according to God’s will (John 15:7). Most of all, pray with a heart that is surrenderered to God’s ultimate purposes (Luke 22:42).”

This also goes back to what my girlfriends and I were discussing Tuesday during our run about the Lord’s will. Our final determination about the balance between God’s will and our free will is our heart, and that’s what Max Lucado says based on Luke 22:43, have a heart surrendered to God’s ultimate purposes. May I make that my goal on a daily basis.

One thought on “Prayer….

  1. You are not alone! Personally, I find that although I do pray three or four times a day, the prayers are typically short and to the point and not near as heart felt as they should be. “Lord, keep my family safe today. Amen.” I can do better than that! I’m learning to pray “big” and truly believe that nothing is outside of God’s ability.

Leave a Reply

