Lauging at God…

Many times as a kid I committed to read through the entire Bible in one year. Inevitably, I would start in Genesis and stop not long after I started. This routine went on year after year after year. This year, my youngest sister-in-law and I have committed to keep each other accountable. We are reading through the Bible together, and we are also doing a short Max Lucado study on the books of Colossians and Philemon.

What I have found to be really refreshing about our Bible reading is how the daily reading is split up between the Old Testament, Psalms, and New Testament. I have found it very inspiring lately to read through the Old Testament stories recently. I have been really inspired by the faith, and even lack of faith, by many in the Old Testament. We’re still early in the book, so you have Abraham who loved God SO much, he was willing to put his son on an altar, raise a knife in the air in preparation to kill his son….or back up in the story to Sarah who laughed at God because she had such little faith about conceiving a child. Then, I think of Rebekah who followed a stranger out of her land because she believed God called her to go. Why can’t I have faith like those in Bible times?

Recently, I have felt like the Sarah’s of the Bible…laughing at God. I don’t literally laugh at God, but I struggle with what’s in front of me. Many times I suffer from unbelief or just simple confusion. There are many concerns and decisions in our lives right now, and I feel like I’m laughing at God. I want to be the Abraham’s of the Bible and be willing to sacrifice my deepest love to serve Him. A girlfriend of mine sent me an e-mail this week about something unrelated to what I’m feeling, but it has stuck with me. Here’s what she said, “But Monday I had a really long talk with God and decided that I was going to pray “big” and lay it all on Him.” Do I talk to God? The chapter Emily and I covered in our book on Colossians last week was about prayer. Do I spend time in prayer to God? Not often enough. I want to be one of those people that when I tell someone I’m praying for them they know it to be true. Do you know someone like that?

Leave a Reply

