Family….Yesterday…in History.

I am sometimes accused of loving the Sutter family more than my own, which is an unfair statement, but to shed light on the falsehood, I want to honor my family in the same way I do the Sutters on their special days. I’m a day late due to busy season, but yesterday, March 13th was my sister’s birthday. She recently moved to Norfolk, Virginia with her company, Penske Truck Leasing, and she is relying on God to help her locate a home so she can move out of her hotel, and she is also relying on Him to find a tenant to rent her home here in South Carolina. So, as I do….let’s see what happened on “This Day in History.”

1781 The planet Uranus was discovered by Sir William Herschel.
1852 “Uncle Sam” made his debut as a cartoon character in the New York Lantern.
1884 Standard Time was adopted throughout the United States.
1901 Benjamin Harrison, the 23rd president of the United States, died in Indianaoplis at age 67.
1906 Suffragist Susan B. Anthony died at age 86.
1925 A law went into effect in Tennessee prohibiting the teaching of evolution.
1933 Banks began to re-open after a holiday declared by President Franklin D. Roosevelt.
1938 Defense attorney Clarence S. Darrow died at age 80.
1947 The Lerner and Loewe musical “Brigadoon” opened on Broadway.
1964 Kitty Genovese, 28, was stabbed to death near her Queens, New York, home. The case came to be a symbol of urban apathy, though initial reports that 38 neighbors ignored Genovese’s calls for help have since been disputed.
1969 Apollo 9 returned to Earth after a mission to test the lunar module that was used in the moon landings.
1980 A jury in Winamac, Ind., found Ford Motor Co. innocent of reckless homicide in the fiery deaths of three young women riding in a Ford Pinto.
1996 A gunman opened fire on a class of kindergarteners at an elementary school in Dunblane, Scotland, killing 16 children and one teacher before killing himself.
2005 Robert Iger was named to succeed Michael Eisner as chief executive of Walt Disney Co.

The notable people that she shares her birthday are….William Macy….he’s the only one I recognized.

Another interesting fact about Brandi???? She was the one who led me to the Lord back in ’93. Whether she remembers or not, she and I will always share that special moment in my life. I love you Brandi. I miss you dearly, but I know you’re where the Lord wants you. See you soon!!!

(She’s the one in the middle).

3 thoughts on “Family….Yesterday…in History.

  1. Just for the record where is Thanksgiving this year and every year?? I did not even know you had a blog, but I am sure the Sutters did….. right?

    • Thanksgiving will ALWAYS be with the Millards assuming we are still in South Carolina. If our living situation were to ever change, we would need to re-evaluate the holidays. 😉 AND, I’ve posted my blog on my fb account before….so you’re just not too technologically advanced. 😉

Leave a Reply

