Crab Cakes anyone?

Today was the first day in almost three months that I did not have to work on Saturday. I’m not going to get too excited, because I will probably have to work the rest heading into our tax deadline, but it was nice to have an unexpected day off. I didn’t set an alarm in the morning which was so nice. I don’t remember the last time I had a morning like that.

 The day was spent doing things that are relaxing to me. I started by weeding my flower garden and tilling Jon’s veggie garden. Jon has been eagerly waiting to shoot his new shotgun so he and a friend went clay pigeon shooting (where he shot 25 out of 30 clay pigeons). I wasn’t in the Annie Oakley mood, so I went to my mom’s to try to help her with her kitchen makeover project. My mom has knocked down a wall, insulated and put up a new wall in a room that used to be in her garage, and removed all of the tile flooring in preparation for her new floor. I would post pictures, but we are purposefully keeping my sister in VA in the dark so that she is surprised in what we have done since she’s been gone. I’m not too sure though how she left just in time to miss this major renovation. Lucky duck. Anyway, now it’s date night. BJU is playing Furman in soccer tonight, so Jon and I opted to have the house to ourselves while Joey and his friends went to cheer them on. It will be a night filled with Shrimp Scampi, Homemade Mashed Potatoes, and Homemade Ice Cream (thanks to the ice cream maker the Fortney’s gave us for our wedding 2.5 years ago….using it for the first time tonight) 😉

 Yes, Jon’s cooking experiments have been going well. This past week, he made us homemade crab cakes, homemade pizza….not too unusual, but this was the first time he made the dough from scratch and tonight, he’s trying the potatoes for the first time. He and his co-worker spend most of their day talking about their next food creations. I can’t say I mind. At first, I was a little put off because you always here that the “good wife” has dinner on the table, laundry done, and clean house for her family. Some woman in the ministry even said that the reason my parents split up was because my mom didn’t cook enough, so I have tried from day one to learn new recipes and add variety to our meal schedule. Well, obviously, not cooking kind of took that role away from me, but Jon enjoys it, so I have been finding other ways around the house to make myself useful, and I can’t say I have minded the new recipes. . . very delicious. What has been more fun is all of the money we have saved this year on food. When we sat down to do our 2010 budget, we wanted to rein in the money spent on food, so we have been couponing and we have saved so much in comparison to where we were last year, and we haven’t sacrificed the quality of our food. If anything, we are eating way better.

 My next class starts Monday. It feels so great to be slowly chipping away at this degree. Joey says he’s still fine with me graduating with him, so that’s what we’re hoping for. Definitely mark your calendars for a big Sutter graduation party when Joey, Amy, and I all graduate together in 2011. Well, I’m going to sign off and spend the evening with my sweet husband. I will be traveling next week (for the last time this season…woo hoo), so I must soak up all of the J&A time that we can get. Love you all, and thanks for reading.

One thought on “Crab Cakes anyone?

  1. Sounds like a wonderful day! You’re a great wife – allowing Jon to cook…I think the “bad wife” would be the one who would refuse to let her husband cook when he wants to. 🙂 And ummmmm – I’ll work on that 2011 date..yike!

Leave a Reply

