Beach Bums!

This last week Jon and I got the privilege of spending a week with my family in Corolla, NC which is a portion of the Outer Banks of North Carolina. Our family shared a beach house that was close to the sound and only three blocks from the ocean. We had such a great time. I got to see many animals that I do not see often (if ever). We saw a sea otter and his little family, turtles, foxes (multiple times while running), crabs, fish, and snake skins and/or dead snakes. Thankfully, I did not see any living snakes. We also celebrated Jon’s birthday!

I had been praying that the week would go well and that Jon would have a fun time. The Lord definitely answered our prayers. The weather was absolutely perfect, and one of our very close friends happened to be vacationing in Corolla with his family as well. Jon Fortney, our friend from NYC, spent a lot of our beach time with us. Due to our trip this fall, we were not going to get to see Jon in Destin, FL as we have in the past few years, so it was such a blessing to get to spend so much time with him this week. He and Jon even got to go kayaking. I went to take a picture of them, but they finished earlier than they were supposed to, so you can just see them after they finished. It also wouldn’t be a visit with Jon F. if a sand fight didn’t ensue.  

Jon taught Ethan how to go crabbing which was a lot of fun, and I wish I could have bottled Ethan’s excitement when they caught “a keeper.” Uncle Jon cooked the two keeper crabs that he caught (caught a total of 12 in one night), and he ate them all himself. While he didn’t share those, he did share some amazing shrimp and Mahi Mahi that he made for us…no he didn’t catch those. J The kids loved hanging out with Uncle Jon in the pool too! It’s so funny seeing how much Madelyn adores Jon.

Madelyn also really enjoyed getting to take two swimming lessons. It’s funny to see a little three year old flirt, but Becki and Dallas will have their hands full when she gets older. She was flirting with her swim instructor. The picture on the second row second one in from the right is when her swim instructor talked to her…when he walked away, she said, “He talked to me!” Seeing Madelyn swim without her float after her lessons was so exciting. She will be on her own before we know it. The picture of her on the couch is what happened after both of her swimming lessons. She was exhausted! 

I spent a lot of time laying out on the beach and reading. I only finished one book. It was What Do I Know about My God by Mardi Collier. I was given the book back in 2006, but I just now got around to starting it and finishing it. It was a really great book teaching a new system of studying the Bible so that I can learn specific attributes about my God which will make me a more effective believer, and if I know my God better, it’s likely that I will be able to give better advice to those seeking help in various situations. I didn’t finish my other book which was Decision Points by George W. Bush, but it has been an interesting read so far. Well, off to relax. I am not sure what to do with all of my free time with no homework and no laundry (did it all before I even got home). See you next week….

2 thoughts on “Beach Bums!

  1. I loved seeing all the photos! What a wonderful tour of your vacation! Looks like you both had a fabulous time. Nice to see Jon Fortney! And to hear about all the little critters that came out to greet you!!

Leave a Reply

